Minister Thulas Nxesi addresses CCMA’s annual labour conference, 22 Sept

Honourable Minister of Employment and Labour TW Nxesi (MP), Honourable Chief Justice Raymond Zondo and Honourable Judge President Basheer Waglay to address the CCMA’s annual labour conference 2022
The CCMA is excited to be hosting its Fourth Annual CCMA Labour Conference 2022 (the Conference) on 22-23 September 2022 at the Birchwood Hotel & Conference Centre, Boksburg, following a two (2) year hiatus imposed by the COVID – 19 Pandemic.

The Conference, with the leading theme: “25 years in pursuit of Social Justice and Equity”, boasts a Conference Programme that will provide an opportunity for social partners and stakeholders to commemorate as well as reflect on the 25-year Anniversary of the CCMA and the Labour Relations Act (LRA), to discuss and ideate on the current myriad of labour issues in the global and national discourse and for them to engage on best practice norms, notable trends in the labour market whilst also influencing Thought Leadership on the future of dispute resolution. The Conference is expecting a physical audience of approximately 500 delegates. The Conference will also be streamed live via the following link: is external)

The Conference programme will be kicked off by the Honourable Minister of Employment and Labour, Thulas Nxesi, MP; who will give an address on the importance of effective legislation and dispute resolution institutions in promoting labour market stability, peace and equity. We are excited that the Honourable Judge President Basheer Waglay – Judge President of the Labour Appeal Court and the Labour Court of South Africa will give a judicial lecture reflecting on whether the Labour Court delivered on its mandate over the last 25 years. Later in the evening, our keynote address will be delivered by the Honourable Chief Justice Raymond Zondo – Chief Justice, Constitutional Court of South Africa, who will narrate his recollections from his tenure as the first CCMA Governing Body Chairperson and Judge President of the Labour Appeal Court.

Other distinguished speakers featured on the Conference programme are the following: Prof. Letlhokwa George Mpedi, Adv. Cameron Morajane, Mr. Charles Nupen, Prof. Paul Benjamin, Prof. Evance Kalula, Dr. Joni Musabayana, Prof. Bonang Mohale, Prof. Glenda Gray and Adv. Anton Myburgh. International speakers include: Judge Fernanda Junqueira (Brazil), Ms. Lomkhosi Magagula (Swaziland), Commissioner David Thaler (USA) and Dr. June Namgoong (South Korea).

Source: Government of South Africa

Leave a Reply