Iiyambula re-elected as Okahao mayor

Cornelia Iiyambula was on Thursday re-elected as Okahao mayor and pledged to maintain effective service delivery for the town's residents. Iiyambula, supported by fellow Swapo Councillor Julia Katoole as her deputy, leads a team including Johannes Kaushi Uushini, Aina Kagasheka Amalovu, and Andreas Embula Nekwaya, all Swapo Councillors, who were re-elected as members of the management committee. Uushini retains his position as the committee's chairperson. Magdalena Ileimo Iitula and Petrus Shaanika Shaanika, both IPC members, serve as ordinary council members. Iiyambula said she is dedicated to their mission of fostering local economic growth and committed to transparency and accessibility. 'I commit to continue fostering an environment of openness where transparency and accessibility prevail,' she said. She also stressed staying informed about developments, best practices, and innovative solutions to address community challenges. Iiyambula further pledged accountability for decisions taken and urged O kahao residents to actively engage in development activities and provide insights and ideas for the town to prosper. Source: Namibia Press Agency (NAMPA)