Gauteng Health invites nominations to serve on clinic committees

Health Department calls for nominations for new members to serve on clinic committees for new term

The Gauteng Department of Health invites nominations for community representatives to serve on the Primary Health Care Facility Committees, better known as Clinic Committees in Gauteng Province for a three year-term of office starting from 1 April 2018 � 31 March 2021.

The committees are established in terms of Section 42 of the National Health Act, no. 61 of 2003. The main objectives include; to assist the Primary Health facility in addressing the health needs of the communities served and to ensure accountability and effective management of facilities.

In order to be considered for appointment, nominees must:

Be above 25 years of age;

Reside within the area or the ward served by the facility;

Must have sound knowledge and understanding of community work; and

Must at least have a sound knowledge of the health sector.

Roles and functions of the clinic committees include:

Promote the mission, vision and values of the Department of Health;

Participate in the strategic planning and operational processes with a view to advising management;

Ensure that measures are taken by management to improve the performance and quality of service;

Fulfil an oversight role with respect to the performance, effectiveness and efficiency including the maintenance of the Primary Healthcare Care facility;

Ensure that measures are in place to address the needs, concerns and complaints of clients and the community and that such are properly managed;

Foster community participation and accountability; and

Provide information about the facility including services; programmes and campaigns of the Department.

Procedures for nominations:

Nomination forms can be obtained from all Gauteng Health Primary Health Care facilities and completed forms should be submitted to the local Primary Healthcare facility.

A comprehensive Curriculum Vitae and Certified copy of Identity Document should be attached to the nomination form.

Nominations may also be forwarded to the Department of Health for attention: Ms. Mpuleng Kgotleng or Mr. Donald Phasha, Gauteng Department of Health, 21st Floor, Room 2105, Bank of Lisbon, 37 Pixley Ka Isaka Seme Street, Johannesburg.

Source: Government of South Africa