Krachi East Constituency: 648 delegates to vote in NPP Presidential primary

The Krachi East Constituency of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) is set for its 2023 Presidential primary scheduled for November 4, 2023. A total of 648 delegates drawn from 130 polling stations are expected to converge at Dambai Teacher College of Education (DACE) for the exercise. The people who constitute the delegates for this election include 600 polling station executives, 21 Electoral Area Coordinators,17 Constituency Executives,5 Council of Elders and five Disciplinary Committee Members. Mr Anthony Bibari Nkufu, the Constituency Research and Elections Officer revealed this during an interview with the Ghana News Agency (GNA). He gave assurance that the party's upcoming election would uphold fairness and transparency and emphasised the importance of adhering to party guidelines and regulations, urging stakeholders to ensure full compliance. 'And all stakeholders will appreciate the extent to which we carried out this process, we are appealing to delegates to ensure full compliance with the guidelines, rules and regulations of the party,' he said. Mr Gyemfi Boateng, Chairman of Krachi East Constituency of the NPP, said the voting arena around the College would be a no-go area for cell phones. when the 648 delegates converge there next weekend to elect a Presidential candidate for the party to contest the 2024 elections. He outlined security and other measures agreed on by stakeholders for peaceful and trouble-free elections. Mr Boateng said: 'Once the delegates firmly seated in the arena where voting would take place, they would be restricted from going anywhere else. These measures will guide the conduct of the elections as well as ensure free, fair and transparent elections on November 4.' He said the measures were also to forestall undue interaction, interference and influence on the delegates. Persons contesting to become the flagbearer of the party include Vice President Mahamudu Bawumia, a former Minister of Food and Agriculture Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, a former Member of Parliament (MP) for Mampong constituency, Mr Francis Addai-Nimoh, and the Member of Parliament (MP) for Assin Central constituency, Mr Kennedy Ohene Agyapong.

Source: Ghana News Agency