About 2,292 delegates to vote in Tarkwa-Nusaem constituency NDC parliamentary primaries

A total of 2,292 delegates from the National Democratic Congress (NDC) party in the Tarkwa-Nsuaem Constituency are expected to cast their ballots in the upcoming parliamentary primary. The elections slated for Saturday, October 28, 2023, have been scheduled to take place at five polling centres across the constituency. The Tarkwa-Nsuaem Constituency was among five constituencies that were initially put on hold for various reasons. The elections, to be supervised by the Electoral Commission, would commence at 0800 hours in all polling centres and end at 1500 hours. Mr Manasseh Addison Sackey, Deputy constituency secretary of the NDC, who disclosed this in an interview with the Ghana News Agency (GNA), in Tarkwa said to ensure a smooth election, they had zoned the constituency into three. He said: 'In the Tarkwa zone, we have clusters A, B and C. Cluster A: is comprised of Simpa, Dompim, Teberebe, Bonsa, Wassa Agona, Akyempim, Senyakrom, Tamso electoral areas'. 'Cluster B: are Nkamponase, Brahabobom, Akoon, Green Compound, New Atuabo, Cyanide, Kwabedu, and Old Town; while Cluster C: have Esuoso, Tarkwa Banso, Nsuta, Brenuakyenim, Kadadwen, Zongo/Railway Quarters, Layout, and Tarkwa Na Aboso electoral areas.' The Deputy Constituency Secretary stressed that because they had more delegates in the Cluster B Zone, three polling centres would be created at the Tarkwa Senior High School Park to help end polls within the stipulated time. At Nsueam Zone, delegates from Adiewoso, Tetrem, Kyekyewere, Nkwanta, Nsueam town, Essougya, Mile 5, Nsueam Top, Nyaso-Nkran, Kadadwen, and Essamang Electoral Areas would vote at the Methodist Basic School, said Mr Sackey. Again, he mentioned that, at Benso zone, delegates would exercise their franchise at the Benso Community Centre which comprised of Ebusam, Benso Essamang, Amantin, Benso Town, Ningo, Yayaho, Mahamamo, and Subriso electoral areas. He, however, emphasized that delegates were required to go to the polling stations with any of the following official cards; Ghana Card, National Health Insurance card, Voter's identification card or party card else they would be prevented from voting. Mr Sackey revealed that the Ghana Police Service had agreed to deploy 100 officers and men to maintain law and order, for a peaceful atmosphere during and after the election. Three aspirants vying for the Tarkwa-Nsuaem constituency seat are; Professor George Adjei, lecturer at the University of Mines and Technology, Sheik Salifu Issah Taylor, a miner, Ghana Manganese Company Limited and Mr Wilberforce Essien, an information technology expect.

Source: Ghana News Agency